*  Message from the Mayor  *

Residents of Grand Island:

People are asking me for locations in the city where coronavirus may be present.  On March 28, 2020, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services determined that we have confirmed cases of community spread of coronavirus in the city.  This means that we must assume that coronavirus is everywhere.  Please take extra precautions using this assumption.   Please keep at least 6 feet of space between you and other people, wash your hands regularly, and do not touch your face. 

Mayor Roger G. Steele

Animal Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Grand Island Boards and Commissions

If you are interested in applying for a board position, please fill out the Boards and Commissions Appointment Application(PDF).

Animal Advisory Board

Section 5-2 of the City Code provides for the establishment of an Animal Advisory Board. The purpose of the Animal Advisory Board is to advise the Mayor and City Council on all matters relating to the Animal Code. The board shall be composed of nine members: five (5) members appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the City Council; one (1) of whom shall be a licensed veterinarian, three (3) shall be registered voters residing within the City of Grand Island; and one (1) member of the City Council. The other four (4) non-appointed members shall consist of the Chief of Police or his/her designee, the City Attorney or his/her designee, the director of the Animal Control Authority or his/her designee, and the director of the designated health department or his/her designee. Appointed members shall serve without compensation. The Animal Advisory Board shall meet during January of each year and/or such other occasions as may be established by said board. Meetings are held at noon the Legal Library at City Hall.


Name Term Start Term Expiration
Melissa Girard-Lemons D.V.M.    08/31/2020 
Bob Loewenstein, Member at Large  10/18/2002  08/31/2020 
Doug Jensen, Member at Large 01/13/2004 08/31/2021
Michelle Fitzke, Member at Large 09/10/2019 08/31/2022
Robert Falldorf, Police Chief
Teresa Anderson, Central Nebraska Health Department
 Stacy Nonhof, Interim City Attorney    
 Jeremy Jones, Council Liaison  01/22/2019  12/31/2020